SELN Guidance for Conversations

Do you have the SELN Guidance for Conversations yet?

Download your copy of the Guidance

About the Guidance
Guided conversations help people process information, draw their own conclusions, and make their own decisions. The ultimate goal of guided conversations is to identify and design a person’s pathway towards rewarding employment. For more information about the guidance, visit the guidance webpage.

 

SELN Shorts: Spring 2019



CASE MANAGERS: GUIDES ON THE PATHWAY TO EMPLOYMENT

A full-time job in the community is not the only way to define employment success for individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities.

Instead, success is a series of accomplishments. It is overcoming a challenge and challenges that follows. Guided conversations between case managers and individuals often reveal obstacles, and give them a place to brainstorm solutions and develop opportunities.

Join us for 6 sessions with 6 effective case managers from SELN member states. Case managers will share innovative approaches they used to help 6 individuals move forward along their employment pathway.

You must register for each session individually.
Time: 9am HT/ 12pm PT/ 1pm MT/ 2pm CT/3pm ET
All sessions are from 30 minutes long. 

March 26: Connecting the Dots
Lindsay Williams, resource coordinator, MO 
Lindsay is a resource specialist with County Connections in northeast Missouri. She provides case management to a non-Medicaid caseload of approximately sixty-five individuals, covering eight counties. Lindsay also serves as a resource person for people with disabilities, stakeholders, and communities. She has been in the field for eight years and has provided case management for five of those years. She holds a bachelor’s degree in human services.

April 9: Brokering New Deals
Capri Loegering, social worker, MN


April 23: Networking Possibilities
Tracy Mitchell, case manager, MN
Tracy has been a county case manager in Minnesota for 24 years.  She first started working with people with developmental disabilities (DD) as a summer camp counselor. She recalls that she was “terrified to be around and work with people with DD.” Tracy faced her fears and started working at a group home for children with DD, soon realizing she enjoyed working with people with disabilities and helping them to live their best lives. 24 years later, she is still working hard at it. Tracy earned a master’s degree in social work from Augsburg College.  

May 7: Reaching Out
Shanon Bene, service & support administrator, OH
For the past 7 years, Shanon has serves as the service & support administrator (SSA) at the Clinton County Board of Developmental Disabilities. Shanon provides case management to individuals in her county who have developmental disabilities, specifically those who have an interest in working in the community.


May 21: Negotiating Fairness
Ifeoma Muoka, service coordinator, DC


June 4:  Keeping the Focus
Jason Sullivan, support coordinator, PA